Cambodia, Vietnam, Philippines and Laos added to India’s Visa on arrival scheme for tourists

The Government has extended the visa on arrival scheme for the tourists from Cambodia, Vietnam, Philippines and Laos from January this year. This scheme was launched last year for the tourists from Finland, Japan, Luxembourg, New Zealand and Singapore as a measure to attract more foreign tourists to India.

The number of visas issued under this scheme, during January 2011 for nationals of the eight out of nine countries were New Zealand (242), Finland (156), Japan (155), Singapore (125), Philippines (98), Luxembourg (6), Cambodia (4), and Vietnam (4). The maximum number of visas on arrival were issued at Delhi airport (406), followed by Mumbai (214), Chennai (137) and Kolkata (33).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *